Life can be exhausting

Isaiah 40:28-31 says: “Have you not known? Have you not heard? The Lord is the everlasting God, the creator of the ends of the earth. He does not faint or grow weary; his understanding is unsearchable. He gives power to the faint, and to him who has no might he increases strength. Even youths shall faint and be weary, and young men shall fall exhausted; but they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.”

I need that reminder on a regular basis; that the Lord is the everlasting God who does not get tired and who understands all things; that he gives power and strength to those who are in need of it and who wait for him. I need that reminder on a regular basis because I too often try to do things in my own strength, and I get exhausted. I need that reminder on a regular basis because when I’m exhausted it is too easy to turn to my ideas or man-made solutions, rather than to God who understands all things and will give me the strength I need to carry on.

Ministry can be exhausting, especially when it seems like I have more to do than time to do it, or some question if I do enough at all. Having a family can be exhausting, especially when the kids are being rebellious or are waking me up way too early! Being a husband can be exhausting, especially when I feel like being selfish instead of focusing on my wife, or when I don’t feel respected like I’d want (again, selfish thinking there). Striving to live as a Godly man can be exhausting, especially when the sins I am tempted with seem so appealing, or I just don’t feel like doing the right thing all the time. Life can be exhausting, for a whole lot of reasons.

Praise God that when I’m exhausted from all that goes on in this life, if I stop trying it on my own and wait on him, he promises that “they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.”

Tired? Rest in God. Exhausted? Wait for the Lord. Out of strength? Let the Lord, the everlasting God, renew your strength. Don’t know what to do anymore? Rely solely on God, who doesn’t get tired and whose understand is unsearchable.

Proverbs 3:5-6 “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 705 other followers

